Home » #run2013challenge » The Owston Ferry 10K: “Fast Route. Disappointment with a PB!”

The Owston Ferry 10K: “Fast Route. Disappointment with a PB!”

Sunday 16th June 2013

Time: 40:48

Position: 45th out of 293

Mum came to cheer me on!

Mum came to cheer me on!

After a bit of time off following 26.2 miles round Hull I was back over the bridge to Owston Ferry, a small village along the River Trent in the Isle of Axholme.

After the mess of the Hull 9k I entered the Owston Ferry 10k with the aim of getting a decent PB ideally something under 40 minutes. It would be fair to say that I didn’t quite reach the start line at 100% having only been out for two runs in two weeks and suffering from the back-end of some flu which had kept me off work at the end of the week. Despite that I was still hopeful of a strong run on a flat course .

The 10:30 start was great as I didn’t have to get up too early! (I’m definitely not a morning person). The race began in the village park before leaving the village following several country lanes before returning in a loop back to Owston Ferry and finishing back in the park. The course was as flat as you’re going to get, offering a great chance for a PB.

Owston Ferry 10k(1)

Final stretch!

The organisation was what you would expect for a small race as you picked your number up from the village hall right next to start. No problems there.

The race wasn’t chip timed so I got myself into a decent position on the start line and as the gun went off I set out pretty quickly as we looped the park and left the village. I felt in decent nick for the first 1km with a split time of 3:40 then bang! It turned out I’d set off too quick as I began to struggle to maintain my pace. The first half of the race would be into a head wind and conditions were muggy and overcast. It was even worse when the sun broke through.  I passed the 5km marker at bang on 20 minutes but knew I wouldn’t be able to maintain my pace.

I was struggling physically but I wasn’t particularly out of breath. I just felt weak. I wasn’t at the races! Then I got nailed! An elderly gentleman easily overtook me just after 5km. Mentally I was fried.

At around 6km the route looped back along the river bank and back towards Owston Ferry with a slight tail wind, although I couldn’t feel it! I began to maintain my pace at around 4:15 min/km. I couldn’t wait to finish the race. I overtook the elderly gentleman who very kindly encouraged me to keep going as we entered the village for the last 2km.

Owston Ferry 10k(2)

My long suffering supporter!

As we ran along the main road we got a decent reception by the small crowd which had gathered. I began to pick up the pace a little before I was overtaken by someone. Usually my competitive side would kick in but it just wasn’t one of those days. Then I noticed he began to cut corners as we entered the final stretch despite the marshals telling him to stick to the road. They weren’t small corners either. I nearly started to race again just out of principle. I’ll never understand cutting corners as you only cheat yourself. At this point I was too tired to care. In every race so far this year I’d finished really strong and I’d prided myself on finishing better than those around me. Today was different. I’d settled on finishing within 41 minutes and upon entering the park I knew I would comfortably beat that. Seeing Gemma and my Mum at the finish gave me a bit of a boost as I crossed the line.

I came home in 45th with a time of 40:48, which officially smashed my previous personal best by nearly 8 minutes but I couldn’t help but feel slightly disappointed. It was the first race I’d finished and not felt good. It was a very strange feeling because if I’d have been offered that time before the race I would have probably taken it.

After the race I sought out the gentleman who had overtaken me earlier and congratulated him. I was massively impressed with his effort. It turned out he was 70! Not only that he is ranked the fastest 70 year old in the UK. Unbelievable! I can only dream of being that fit at 70!

When I got home I had time to reflect. Logistically I still haven’t got to grips with getting my pre race nutrition sorted. I still struggle to eat anything before I set off. This time though I’d left my drink at home so had no fluid either. Big mistake! I need to sort this out pretty sharpish otherwise I’m going to become a cropper in my marathons.

There were no issues out on the route which often means that the marshals were effective. You might not notice them but they always do a cracking job. A water station out on the 5km mark was enough to sustain runners although water was in cups rather than in bottles but I think cups is par for the course for the smaller less expensive events. The Owston Ferry 10k was a decently organised local event for anyone looking to get a new PB.


Leave a comment